Samuel Taylor Coleridge

What if you slept?

“What if you slept?
And what if in your sleep, you dreamed?
And what if in your dream, you went to heaven
and there plucked a strange and beautiful flower?
And what if, when you woke, you had the flower in your
hand?
Ah! What then?”

4 Respuestas a “Samuel Taylor Coleridge

  1. He escuchado (y leído) tantas historias parecidas que estoy por pensar que llegará el día en que amanezca una al lado de mi mano, o de mi pie, como leí en un libro.

    • Sería precioso encontrarla ahí, ¿verdad?. Ya me contarás si te ocurre algún día.
      Puse este poema de Coleridge porque es de los pocos que me sé de memoria. Siempre me ha encantado porque habla del poder de los sueños, de cómo éstos se pueden hacer realidad.
      Hubo una época en que me apuntaba todos los sueños ( tengo unas diez libretas ). Luego comprobé que lo que soñaba me ocurría. Y experimenté miedo y alegría a la vez ante esa especie de clarividencia.
      Ahora hace tiempo que no recuerdo los sueños. Pero estos días he vivido uno precioso, en directo. Este poema va dedicado a esa experiencia.
      Besitos

  2. I love this poem too. Yesterday I read somewhere that maybe it is not his . I know it by heart: since primary school!!!!. It´s been one of my favourite, together with one written by E. e. Cummings:
    “i carry your heart with me (i carry it in
    my heart) i am never without it (anywhere
    i go you go, my dear; and whatever is done
    by only me is your doing, my darling)
    i fear
    no fate (for you are my fate, my sweet) i want
    no world (for beautiful you are my world, my true)
    and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant
    and whatever a sun will always sing is you

    here is the deepest secret nobody knows
    (here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud
    and the sky of the sky of a tree called life; which grows
    higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)
    and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

    i carry your heart (i carry it in my heart)”

    XOXO

deja una respuesta

